Classwork (without Teacher) Wednesday 02 October

2 Oct

Exercise 1:

Textbooks page 9 – Practse Roleplay (in pairs)

 
 
Exercise 2:

In the comments section below (on this page) answer the following…

Write a “small talk” question that you could ask when you are visiting a company (in a foreign country) and talking to somebody new for the first time.

A question about…
1. the weather
2. sport
3. food
4. tourism
5. work hours & annual holidays

 
APPROPRIATE ANSWERS

1.How was the weather in Zurich when you left?
It’s hot today, isn’t it?
2. Which is the most famous football team in this city?
Which team do you support?
3.What type of food is popular here in the Basque country?
Does the Basque country have the best food in the world?
4. Is there a good museum in the city I should visit?
Do many tourists come here?
5. What time do you start work?
How many days holiday do you have every year?

36 Responses to “Classwork (without Teacher) Wednesday 02 October”

  1. Leire Ormazabal Agirre October 2, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    1. There the weather
    2. What sport do you practice?
    3. What food do you like?
    4. What place is better to visit?
    5. Do you have a lot of work hours or annual holidays?

  2. Aritz Z. October 2, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Aritz Z.

    1- Do you think that tomorrow is going to rain?
    2- What kind of sports do you like to do?
    3- How do you cook the chicken?
    4- What kind of tourist comes to this town?
    5- How many work hours and annual holidys do you have?

  3. Leire Ormazabal Agirre October 2, 2013 at 10:45 am #

    1. There the weather is better than the weather in India?
    2. What sport do you practice?
    3. What food do you like?
    4. What place is better to visit?
    5. Do you have a lot of work hours or annual holidays?

  4. Ainhoa Z October 2, 2013 at 10:46 am #

    1. This the weather very usual here?
    2. What is your fauvorite sport?
    3. Do you eat different type of food?
    4. Why do you like visit places?
    5. Do you have some work hours or annual holidays?

  5. Tomas I October 2, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Tomas I

    1- Do you know if this week it’s going to rain?
    2- Of what team of football are you fan?
    3- What’s your favourite meal?
    4- Where do you like to go for hollydais?
    5- What do you think about annual hollydais?

  6. Beñat October 2, 2013 at 10:49 am #

    Beñat U

    1-Do you think that today is going to rain?
    2-what sport do you like?
    3-what do you eat on saturdays?
    4-where do you go to holidays?
    5-what do you prefer anual holidays or work hours

  7. JULEN AZCUE ECHEVESTE October 2, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    -It is sun?
    -Do you play rugby?
    -Do you like chocolate?
    -Have you ever been in Rome?
    -How many hours do you work per day?

  8. Asier Ferrer October 2, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    – Excuse me, where is a good restaurant?
    – Yes, you can go to Telechina.
    – Which is your local football team?
    – Macacos FF.
    – What weather do you think we will have today?
    -Today the weather is going to be sunny.
    – Is here any turistic places?
    – Yes, you can visit the historic part of the city.

  9. Jon October 2, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    – How is the weather like here?
    – Normally it is sunny but if rains, it rains very hardly.
    – Is football as popular as in Spain?
    – It is popular too, but here tennis is the most popular one.
    – Do you know any good restaurants where I could go with my family?
    – Yes! You could try the Morlo or the Mole, both are very good.
    – Do you like going to a foreign country to visit different things?
    – I love going abroad with my family and visiting all the places I can.
    – How many hours do you work each day? Do you normally have holidays?
    – Here the normal work hours per day is 8 hours. We celebrate the local holidays and then we have some days to choose.

  10. Iñigo Treviño Aizpurua October 2, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    -How is the weather like here? Mostly the weather is sunny but I recomend you to take de raincout.
    -What sport do you practise? I play football in muy school team.
    -Do you know where is a good resturant to eat tipical basque food? Yes, there is a wonderfull rustauran at the end of the street.
    -It is your city as beautifull as San Sebastian? Yes, it is relly beautifull to visited.
    -How many hours you used to work at a day when you work in London yet? I used to work 7 hour for day.

  11. ENEKO OLAIZOLA SANCHEZ October 2, 2013 at 10:54 am #

    Excuse me, where is a good restaurant?
    Yes, you can go to Telechina.
    which is the local football team?
    Macacos FF.
    What weather do you think we are going to have today?
    Today the weather is gong to be sunny.
    Is here any turisctic place?
    Yes, you can visit the historic part of the city.
    Can you let my de work days calendar?
    Yes, i will give you tomorrow.

  12. Asier Martinez October 2, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    1- Does it rain very usually?
    2- Is it football the most popular sport of your country?
    3- What time do you usually have dinner?
    4- Where do people from your country usually go on holiday?
    5- How many hours do you work on a week?

  13. juanjo iturria October 2, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    -is it usually rains here?
    normally yes, about four days per week
    -which sport is most famous here?
    many people play football but there are to many teams of rugby too.
    -talking about the food, can you say me typical dishes from this country?
    there are two typical dishes, “tortilla de patata” and spaghetti with tomato.
    -I have seen a lot of tourists, but where they come from?
    there are a lot of germany people and we can see to many asian people too.
    -could you informate me about the work hours and anual holidays ?
    most people work about 7-8 hours a day and have 5 weeks of holidays per year.

  14. Teresa E October 2, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    +Hello! I´m from United State. Do you like rain? En England is rainning every day! I don´t like it.
    -Oh, hello! Yes, it is. Here is always rainning. What part of US are you from?
    +I´m from New York. I like play football. Do you like play it?
    – No, thank you. I play tennis but I don´t like football.
    +Ok. Do you know any places where you can have your meal? I want eat a soup.
    – No, I´m sorry. I don´t know ane places.
    +Ok, and do you know any places where I can visit?
    -Yes, I do. In the center you can see the Big Ben and a lot of things.
    +Thank you. I´m in holiday now and I want to visit London. Good bye and thank you for everything

    5. work hours & annual holidays

  15. Ibon Garmendia October 2, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    1-How is the weather like in this country? Does it rain a lot?
    2-What is the most popilar sport in this country? It is football popular?
    3-What is the tipycal food in this country? Is it tasty?
    4- How many people visit your country every year?
    5-How many hours do the peoplimun e nwork normally? which is the minimum wage?

    • Ibon Garmendia October 2, 2013 at 11:32 am #

      1-How is the weather like in this country? Does it rain a lot?Do people go to the beach when the weather is good?

      2-What is the most popilar sport in this country? Is it football popular?

      3-What is the tipycal food in this country? Is it tasty? Is there spicy food?

      4- How many people visit your country every year?Is tourism a major source of income in your country?

      5-How many hours people work daily? which is the minimum wage?

  16. Elisabeth Encina October 2, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    1. What is the weather like here in this city?
    2. Waths the most popular sport in the area?
    3. Could you suggest a restaurant where I could find typical food?
    4. Could you recommend me an interesting museum or a typical monument?
    5. Would you mind explaining me the usual timetable at work and how many holidays you have?

  17. UnaiG October 2, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    1- How is the weather like in this country? It is hot a lot?
    2- What sport is the most popular in this country? Are there lots of rugby clubs?
    3- What type of food is typical in your country?
    4- Which city is the most visited by tourists? Is easy to get there?
    5- How many hours people works normally? Have they got more holidays than us?

  18. Nacho Urbistondo de Leiva October 2, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    How is the climate and weather in this country?
    In this country, the weather is quite rainny, we can´t afford to recieve any sun rays due to the cloudy weather.
    Which sport do you like practising?
    Well… one of my favourite hobbie and sport is skiing. I love It because the sense of liberty you achieve once you are skiing is amazing, I would never change It for something else.
    Can you tell us about any food you likely most?
    Yes, in Spain, the country where I live, It´s quite typical to eat a plate called “paella”. The paella is yellow coloured rice, condimented with whatever you want, for example: chicken, fish…
    What do you like visiting in our country?
    I like to learn about different religions, so… what I mostly like visiting are the churches and cathedrals you can visit in here.
    How many hours would you be able to work in our company? When would you like to have vacations?
    As a non-experienced worker I would like to work as many hours as possible in this company in order to show the management what I´m capable of.
    If It´s possible It would be fine to have a minimum of 1 month of holidays in summer.

  19. Kosma Ausustyniak October 2, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    -How is the weather like today?I’ts rainning now but the afternoon seems to be sunny.
    -Which sport do you like most?I love skating because it’s a sport wich makes me feel good and makes me feel realised.
    -What’s you favorite food?My favourite food is the chineese food because it’s very tasty.
    -Whats the best thing to visit in this city?I think that the most beautifull place to visit is the old part there you can eat diferent things and you have also shops to buy everything what you need.
    -How many hours will I work daily and how many days of vacation wil I have yearly?You will work from 9 am till 2 from monday il friday and you will have 33 vacation days.

  20. Elena Amaro October 2, 2013 at 11:34 am #

    – What is the weather like?
    – What is the most popular sport in this town?.
    – Could you suggest a place to have lunch?.
    – Which historical places could I visit?
    – What the timetable is?

  21. Amaia H October 2, 2013 at 11:35 am #

    1. May I need an umbrella for these days?
    2. Is there near here a sport club where I can play tennis?
    3. Would you mind to give me some advice about buying the typical food?
    4. Where should I go to visit the city?
    5. When are the most typical holidays here?

  22. edgar m October 2, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    1) and, normally, what type of weather should you have hear all the year, is it rainy or sunny?
    2)did you have any type of sport playground here for practice it in the freetime or in the lunchtime?
    3) have you got dinningroom for have lunch in the company?
    4)and how is the country here, are there some monuments or things to visit like a tourist?
    5) i have a final question and is that, what holidays have i in all the year and how much hours need i work every week

  23. Ainhoa Osoro and Ana Maria Rojas October 2, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    1. What temperatures can do here in winter?
    2. Is there any places for doing extreme sports near the town?
    3. Could you recomend a place where I can eat Spanish food?
    4. I want to go for a walk, do you know any turist site near here?
    5. Tell me something about the common timetable here, how many hours do you work a day usually?

  24. Eider M October 2, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    – whats the weather like?
    -are some futboll fields to visit here?
    -what is the most famous food here?
    -Is this a good place for doing tourism?
    -hoy many hours of work and annual holidays do you have?

  25. IonV, Gorka, Saioa October 2, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Group members: ION VAZQUEZ, GORKA URDIN, SAIOA ALTZAGA

    -Visitor: Hello, good morning.

    +Receptionist: Hello

    -Visitor: I have an appointment to see Mr.Smith at 8 a.m, but my flight was delayed and that´s why I´m late.

    +Recepcionist: At this moment he is in a meeting so,you will have to wait a couple of minutes.

    -Visitor: It´s okey, I don´t mind. I will wait.

    +Recepcionist: Would you like coffe or somthing while you are waiting?

    -Visitor: Oh yes, thank you.

    +Recepcionist: It is your first time in Hungary? Or have you ever been here before?

    -Visitor: Yes, it´s my first time here and as I didn´t know what was the weather like here I have just taken only a coat, but I have realized that it´s not enough for the cold that it´s in Hungary.

    +Recepcionist: Yes, you are right, it´s very cold here. I would recommend you to put on another sweater.

    -Visitor: Could you tell me a place where I could buy a sweater for today, and to buy the typical Hungarian scarf as a present for my mother.

    +Recepcionist:There is quite a good clothes shop at the end of this street, so you won´t need to take any taxi. Ah! Mr.Smith is ready to receive you.

    -Visitor: Thank you for the advice. Bye-bye.

  26. Jokin Tolosa Otamendi October 2, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    – What´s the weather in Taylandia during the year?
    – Do you like practising sport?
    – Do you want to eat chineese food?
    – Can we do turism tomorrow?
    – What kind of work you have to do in your school annual holidays?

    • Jokin Tolosa Otamendi October 2, 2013 at 11:41 am #

      – What´s the weather in Taylandia during the year?
      – Do you like practising sport?
      – Do you want to eat chineese food?
      – Can we do turism tomorrow?
      – What kind of work you have to do in your school annual holidays?

  27. Janire October 2, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    -How is the weathere her? Is it cold or hot?
    -I want to know some things for this country, Denmark. What is the tipical food hear?
    -Do they come many tourists to this city?
    -Is there free time for sports in the company?
    -How many hours we have to work? How many holiday we have in all the year?

  28. Olatz.G October 2, 2013 at 11:42 am #

    How is the weather in this country? Is it hot or cold?
    What is the typical food? Do they eat healthy or junk food?
    Is it a turist country? When they come? In summer or winter?
    Is there any famous sport?
    How many hours we have to work? How many holidays in all the year?

  29. Aya October 2, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    1.How is the weather like in your city? Does it rain usually? or it is hot?
    2. I would like to play tennis in my free time, Is there any place to play tennis?
    3. Is there any place to eat something or to drink something? i would like to eat here because i wont have many time.
    4. In my opinion it is important for a country to have tourism because It gives the possibility to make money and develop different places. How is tourism in this country?
    5.How many vacation days will I have in this job?
    Will I have the possibility to choose them or the company will decide takeing into account their necesities?

  30. Unai Canabal Echarte October 2, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    -I don’t like that weather because I feel sad, are you agree with me?
    -Do you watched the tennis match last night? It was amazing!
    -Do you like those lentils? I am full, so If you like I can give you that food.
    -Last summer I went to Italy and I had a good time, do you go to that place?
    -How many hours we have to work? How many holidays in all the year?

  31. Tamara M October 2, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

    The small talk

    Me: Good morning!!

    Somebody: Hello!! Welcome to Canada, you are in the turism company. Can we do anything for you?

    Me: Yes, you do. I have come for holidays to Canada and I am a bit lose so, I need some information about the weather of this weekend. Could you get me it?

    Somebody: Yes, of couse. I have looked it and it will do sunny. Do you need anything more?

    Me: Ooh yes!! What kind of sports , can I practise with friends? And, what is the typical food from here?

    Somebody: I am going to give you this tour guide to consult if you want.

    Me: Thank you. And are work hours and annual holidays appear in the guide?

    Somebody: Yes of couse, is in the rear of the guide. Would you need another thing?

    Me: No, I wouldn´t. That´s all, thank you. Bye.

    Somebody: Good bye.

    The questions are within the dialogue.

  32. Tulsi October 2, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    1. How is the weather like in your country?
    2.What kind of sport do you practice?
    3.What kind of food is the most common there?
    4.Is this a good place for doing tourism?
    5. Could you explain me how many hours people work?

  33. PAULA MAILLO SANCHEZ October 2, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    – Good morning I’m here with Tom Parker, the boss of Artatack company.
    – Thank you for inviting me to this meeting.
    – Let’s start with some questions.
    – Ok.
    – A lot of people want to know how the whether it is like in your country?
    – Mmmm, Mike. That is an interesting question. Well, the whether in my country it’s raining and really cold. Every day I have to pick my umbrella.
    – Wow, it’s hard to survive in that country! Ok, the next question is about sports. What sport do you practice?
    – From Monday to Friday I practice golf. I’ve been practicing this sport since I was 10. My father thought me and I have never stop practicing.
    – Oh! I practice it as well is very entertaining. I would like to know which food do you hate.
    – Haha, the food I hate most is the orange.
    – I can’t believe it! It’s my favorite fruit. It gives me a lot of energy every morning!
    – When I was young I only ate oranges. Now when I smell it, it gives me arcades.
    – Well, it is understable. The next question is about tourism. Which would be the trip of your dreams?
    – This question is personal enough. I prefer going on to the following question because I feel very inconvenient.
    – Ok. The following one is brings over of your schedule of work and your summers vacations. How many hours you work a day?
    – Normally I work from 9 of the morning to 4 of the evening. I like to take advantage of my breaks with my children; they are the nicest of my life.
    – Where are you in the habit of spending the summer?
    – I will not answer to this question. My summers are to devote myself completely to my family. I do not want that I cannot stand the people.
    – Thank you very much Tom in your time and for helping ourselves to knowing yourself a bit more.
    – Thank you Mike for inviting me to this interview.

  34. fernando r October 7, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    what sport do you watch on television?
    what kind of food do you prefer?
    what place is better to visit?
    it is rain?
    how many hours do you work in your live?

Leave a Reply

